Your story in pictures

WEDDING PROFESSIONAL SHOWCASE: WEEK 4

Each week we will have the honour of hearing from an industry professional, who will provide general information about their business and some tips to couples just about to start planning their big day. Sometimes it can be very overwhelming trying to book everything for your wedding, let alone knowing what questions to ask! We are hoping our Wedding Professional Showcase series of blogs will give you a good head start.

We were very excited when our next industry professional agreed to be a part of our blog showcase. Wendy from Wendy Maley Photography certainly has an impressive portfolio and a long list of recommendations from past clients. She is one down to earth lady who loves travelling to Branell even though she is not locally based. We absolutely love Wendy’s ‘Who Am I’ profile on her website. Here is a little sneak peak (and maybe our favourite part!)…

” It’s not my job to capture these moments, it’s my pleasure. It’s your story; I am there to tell it in pictures.”

Wendy has included a selection of photos from a wedding she photographed at Branell in March. It is definitely worth heading to her website to see the entire collection of images from this wedding – they are amazing from start to finish!
— Lauren and Tony’s Lockyer Valley Wedding {locations: Branell Homestead and St Mary’s Church Ipswich}
In between shooting and editing, Wendy has taken the time to put together some useful tips and advice on planning your photography and booking a photographer for your special day. Happy reading!

Tell us a little about your business
I’m based on the Gold Coast and cover the Brisbane and Tweed Coast areas and beyond. I love to travel as well (hint,hint). I’m into customer service and making sure my couples have a record of their day captured from start to finish. When you book me to shoot your wedding, you get me (I’m not a giant, out of touch company). I’m also passionate about printing your images, there’s nothing like a gorgeous wedding album! I love natural, beautiful photographs, but I also love to play with props and inject a bit of something different into each day. I love cake, and tea, and tea cake.

wm_photography2

When did you decide photography was your passion?
I’ve always enjoyed being creative, but it wasn’t until after I had my children that I decided it was time to study and bust out the full-time career in photography. I guess you just get to a point where you just want to be yourself, and when you love your job, you don’t ever seem to be ‘at work’. Best thing I ever did!

How would you describe your style?
Relaxed and fun. I love natural light, so if there is any, I’ll find it. I love a good mix of classic and contemporary as well, even quirky. It just keeps me interested creatively. I also love trees, if there’s a giant tree, I’m there.

What distinguishes your work from other photographers?
The cake. Seriously though, I don’t really know. I don’t ever compare myself to them. I just enjoy their work.

Film or digital?
Digital, but I do like to play with film at home.

Colour or black and white?
Both please! Sometimes black and white is just the bomb, other times a pop of colour is the only way to go! It depends on the look and feel of the image and how I saw it when I photographed it.

What is your favourite time of day to photograph weddings and why?
Oh golden hour! Afternoon weddings can bring such a warm, dreamy feel to a wedding, and since I love natural light, what could be better than a romantic sunset? Having said that, I’m kinda in love with night photography at the moment too….

wm_photography1

One favourite/funny memory from a wedding?
Oh that’s easy! My first ever wedding I was shooting with a prominent Sydney photographer and I turned up for the job and it was in the CATHEDRAL (St Mary’s). I nearly died with excitement, and I’ve never looked back. EVERY wedding excites me, whether it’s in a back yard garden or a majestic cathedral. I love them all.

What is one piece of advice you would give couples when thinking about their wedding photography?
One mistake I made at my own wedding was not valuing the photography enough. I had a cheap photographer, who did a cheap job. This was long before I became a photographer, and I wish someone had said to me that it’s worth paying a great photographer to get what you really want. You’re going to have your photos for a lifetime, and your family will enjoy them for generations to come. So, hire someone whose work you love, and be sure to print your precious memories. Get that album, let your kids look through it, because let’s face it, what’s the point of having gorgeous photos of one of the most important days of your life when they are sitting in the third drawer in the study on a USB that will be obsolete in 20 years?

wm_photography3

NEXT WEEK: MyLense Photography

One thought on “Your story in pictures

Leave a Reply

